Poets logo

This Pain

This pain is insurmountable

By Ava Myers Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
This Pain
Photo by Klara Kulikova on Unsplash

This pain is insurmountable,

Infinite and incurable.

It’s a shapeshifter,

Taking a different form

When I start to breathe easier

And pulling me back down

When I can’t hold on anymore.

This pain is a candle,

Flickering in the darkness

Of my core - or better yet,

I am the flicker and this pain,

This pain is the darkness

That haunts me, pulls me,

Temps me, surrounds me.

This pain has me lifeless,

Throwing myself against the walls

Until I’m bloodied and bruised for it,

Until I am submissive to it.

Staring out the window,

Wishing I was buried

Six feet under the snow

So I could escape this condemnation.

This pain is the alter of a church,

And it demands a sacrifice,

Day after night, night after day

It demands my body and blood

Until I’m as wilted and withered

As the corpse of Christ

Tied down in a tomb,

Sealed by all the sinners

He couldn’t save.

This pain is…unexplainable.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ava Myers

I write because my pens give me no other choice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.