Poets logo

This Is Not An Invitation

Rape

By ConniePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo By https://unsplash.com/@tamarabellis

I did not wear these shorts so you could stare at my ass

when I say keep walking I shouldn’t have to ask

for you to move along and advert your eyes

which seem to be stuck on my bare thighs

I shouldn’t have to be bundled in sweaters

dressed to the neck in all twenty six letters

my skin doesn’t give you the right to hoot and holler

like some cat prowling in the midnight hour

And no I do not feel flattered

when you talk about climbing me like a new bought ladder

so would you be so kind and advert your gaze

and dirty comments would you refrain

My body isn’t here for you to fantasize

this isn’t a game with me as the prize

the skirt I wear isn’t an invitation

for you to go ahead with your vile recreation

I shouldn’t be scared to dress as I want

yet when showing skin you think that I flaunt

around my body for your eyes to trace

the pain from you I can never erase

when your dirty taunts turn to actions

and you violate me in the lie you call passion

I shouldn’t have to watch my back when I turn

for it should be the rest of the world who has to learn

that when I wear this short dress it isn’t a tease

for you to do with me as you please

And that today is the problem with society

because we blame the girl but not the brutality

and see it as her fault completely

had I not worn that skirt I wouldn’t have been easy

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Connie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.