Poets logo

This is my love letter

a poem

By Emma DatsonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
This is my love letter
Photo by Jess moe on Unsplash

What must I do to prove my love?

If I started sending you flowers,

Would you understand,

Understand like Victorian gentlemen once did,

Understand it as a language of love?

If I sent you an agapanthus,

Would you understand?

Would you know it meant

I was signaling my intent,

That this was a love letter?

If I sent you some asters,

Would you understand?

Would you know they meant

That I would be patient with you,

And with all your fears?

If I sent you some bellflowers,

Would you understand?

Would you know they meant

How truly grateful I am,

To have you and your love?

If I sent you some basil and aloe,

Would you understand?

Would you know they meant

How I hate your moods and,

How they cause me grief?

If I sent you bluebells and columbines,

Would you understand?

Would you know they meant

That if your moods are constant,

That you will avoid desertion?

If I sent you a cactus,

Would you understand?

Would you know it meant

How strong and ardent,

My love is for you?

If I sent you some cosmos,

Would you understand?

Would you know they meant

How I wished for us to have,

Joy in love and life?

If I sent you some daffodils,

Would you understand?

Would you know they meant

How I am looking forward,

To our new beginnings?

If I sent you some fennel and ginger,

Would you understand?

Would you know they meant

I was sending you the strength,

That you need in this lonely time?

If I sent you some gentians,

Would you understand?

Would you know they meant

That you need to remember,

Your own intrinsic worth?

If I sent you some goldenrods,

Would you understand?

Would you know they meant

That I was sending you the careful encouragement,

That you need right now?

If I sent you some hawthorn and hazel,

Would you understand?

Would you know they meant

How I hope for the two of us,

To be reconciled one day?

If I sent you some ivy,

Would you understand?

Would you know it meant

I was telling you that,

You have my fidelity still?

If I sent you some jonquils,

Would you understand?

Would you know they meant

Oh, just how much,

I still desire you my love?

If I sent you some larkspurs,

Would you understand?

Would you know they meant

How much I longed for you,

To find your lightness again?

And finally, if I sent you mullein and myrtle,

Would you understand?

Would you know they meant

It will be okay, to take courage,

And all of my love?

Do you now understand,

That this is my love letter to you?

For it is indeed my love letter,

To you, for you,

Be strong my love.

_____________

As originally published by Wordly Magazine

vintagelove poems
1

About the Creator

Emma Datson

I am 40ish, medically interesting, Australian poet, who is finally using her voice. My superpower is my vocabulary. Dive in and read an eclectic mix of poetry and creative non-fiction, full of love, grief and hope. Light, love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.