Poets logo

This is Me

My Pandemic Emotions

By Julie BuchyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
28
This is Me
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

This is me.

Unapologetically.

I am red in my anger at the ones who

Take no heed in public health and safety.

I am orange when my anger subsides,

But yet remains.

Simmering, smoldering,

Waiting to be set ablaze when they strike again.

Yellow is my demeanor when I willfully ignore

The insolence and arrogance of those who dare to defy

That which is put in place to keep us all safe.

You, me, our kids, our parents, our neighbors;

All of us.

Green is my courage when I finally venture forth

To speak out. When I let my thoughts and feelings free.

Blue is the color of the language I use.

It is not what is expected of me for

I am supposedly a lady.

Sweet, demure, without thought or valuable opinion.

But I have been pushed and I need my displeasure known.

I want to be heard.

I need to be heard.

They need to know how their selfish actions affect me

And the others who have not found their courage.

Indigo.

My words and emotions erupt,

Leaving a certain darkness and disgust in their wake,

But I have said my piece; I have given freedom to what I feel.

The backlash is intense.

They disagree and bellow their own stance louder.

They defend their actions which are for

Freedom, they say.

Violet is my satisfaction that I have taken a stand

Letting the world know that until things change,

Until people care again,

This is me.

Unapologetically. This is me.

social commentary
28

About the Creator

Julie Buchy

I have words inside me. I am told I am a good storyteller. I look for inspiration all over and and want to release my words to other's eyes and minds.

Mom, wife, and now grandmother...just trying to live a happy life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.