Poets logo

This Is Love

A Poem

By Maja ZulovicPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Good morning texts

Hugs and kisses

Tickles and snuggles

and a glass of wine.

Flowers and chocolate.

Surprises.

Posts and pictures

and all of the selfies in the world.

Intimacy.

Waking up before you.

I brush my teeth

fix my hair

go back to bed,

You wake

say good morning

call me beautiful.

Breakfast in bed

A cup of coffee

A whole day of conversation.

Text me throughout the day.

Constant communication

i-love-yous

i-miss-yous

I love you to the moon and back,

Home from work,

Let’s make dinner.

Another glass of wine.

You pass me the pepper.

You need the salt.

We share a kiss

You hug me from behind.

But this isn’t love.

We cook in silence.

I can’t even look at you.

-Pass me the salt.

-Get it yourself.

You’re breathing too loudly!

Can you hurry up?

I turn around to avoid your gaze.

-I’ll do the dishes. Go watch TV.

You come up behind me.

-Give me a kiss.

This is stupid.

I’m sorry.

I’m sorry I say

with resentment inside

but it’ll be better to stop.

Arguments piled

one after another.

What are we fighting about?

I’m moody.

-Leave me alone

I have cramps

I’m going to bed

Enjoy your night.

Again, you come up behind me,

turn me around,

hold me close,

-I’ll get you some milk.

I nod.

Apple pie in the middle of the night.

Pneumonia.

You can’t breathe,

can’t sleep.

I just lay and hold you.

I’m helpless.

I’m there.

I’m trying.

Kisses and cuddles and mucus.

-I’ll clean up the room.

-I’ll clean up the bathroom.

-Rest.

-Go sleep.

I take care of you.

You take care of me.

Fights about raising kids.

My past made me this.

My past made me that.

I love you.

-You’re impossible.

-You’re ridiculous.

-Getting drunk with the guys again?

-What does your ex want?

-Are you talking?

-Don’t lie.

Jealousy, possessiveness, togetherness.

-Thank you for cleaning up the sheets

I wasn’t supposed to get it

until next week.

-Better early than late.

Late.

Five days late.

Three arguments about a hypothetical child we never had.

It’s because we care.

And after that?

-I’ll clean up the sheets again.

-I’ll clean up the bathroom.

This is love.

Embraces and endearment.

Laughter.

Mood swings and tears.

All night at the dinner table.

Talking.

Should we have another cup of coffee?

Should we get some sleep?

I’ll help you upstairs.

Togetherness.

Our root.

Our base.

The foundation to our love.

Togetherness and honesty.

No declaration of eternal passion.

Just what is now.

Now is happiness.

Now is togetherness.

Now is struggle and tears.

This is life.

This is real.

This is love.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Maja Zulovic

Like our lives, my writing is multifaceted. Some happy things, some sad things, current events, reviews and experiences; with some fiction and poetry tossed in there. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.