Poets logo

This is how to love.

Love

By Ian SankanPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

I am in love with you. Before you laugh at me, make fun of me, or just think I'm odd, let me explain what I mean by that before you do any of those things. I don't mean it in a phony, feel-good, or overly sentimental way. And I'm not simply saying that to be nice, make a good impression, or gain your favor. To clarify, what I mean is that I have nothing but the best interests of you and those closest to you in mind. If it's the last resort, what I mean is that I will sacrifice myself and even my life for you in every way that I can think of. And I couldn't care less about how I feel about myself, how I look about myself, what I'm getting out of it, or whether or not I feel like doing it. This path does not lead to love. Simply not any other way. Who are you, exactly? You might be anyone in this room. My close friend, members of my family, my partner, and other people I care about. That's a simple question—anyone can love anybody they choose to love. What about the person I disagree with, the person who is utterly different from me, the person I want to despise, the person everyone else hates, and the person who repulses me? What about those people? What about the person who doesn't like me? What about the person who doesn't like me? What about the person who nobody likes?

NOT relevant at all. Love does not select whom it will love in the same way that the sun does not determine whom it will light on; instead, it simply shines. And why should I care about you? Now, all of these seemingly insignificant details will play a role in assisting us in locating that one thing—happiness—that we are all after and looking for. As much happiness as we can find in this life, but more importantly, the complete satisfaction that can only be found in the life after this one. I will continue to love you no matter what you decide, but that does not guarantee that I will approve of everything you choose to do.

Love requires one to be strong and even ferocious at times. If you do whatever that will hurt, obstruct, poison, postpone, or distract your good, or the interest of anybody else's, then I am the one who needs to stand up against it, not you. Even if it's going to be embarrassing, even if it's going to be unpopular, even if it's going to make you hate me, at least for a short while. But despite the challenges that love might present, love will never lose its patience. That is why each of our lives is its complete entity. Always kind, compassionate, and loving; love is never forceful, preachy, pointing fingers, stiff, or cruel. Love is all of these things and more. And it makes no difference to me what you've done, how large of a mess you've made, how far apart we are, or if your life is a massive catastrophe on a worldwide scale. I don't care.

Love is more important than any of these things put together. And it doesn't matter to me how worthless, flawed, unlovable, or unimportant you may believe yourself to be. I don't care. Love triumphs over all of these obstacles. ... if you get harmed, which all of us do, or if you get in trouble, which all of us do, or if you get beaten up by the world, which all of us will. AND YOU'RE EXHAUSTED, ANGRY, BITTER, Miserable, TERRIFIED, JUST LIKE THE REST OF US, AND YOU HAVE THE FEELING THAT YOU'RE ALL ALONE IN A SEA OF SUFFERING... ill go through this with you. And even if you betray me, laugh at me, make me appear stupid, as well as walk away a thousand times, I will pardon you a million times since nothing can ever occur in this tiny little world that may perhaps ever be more important to me than you. And if we disagree as well as get into those epic contests, which we will, and even if you deceive me, joke at me, make me look senseless, as well as walk away a thousand times, I will forgive you a million times. Not even I can claim that.

When I tell you that I love you, I mean it in this way... However, this is not my true love... My affection is feeble and primarily focused on me at best. This is what he has for her. And he told them, he commanded them, to go out into the world and love one another as much as he loved them. Therefore, I will repeat myself even though I am fully aware that I will be unsuccessful at it a million times today.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Ian Sankan

I am a writer with proven writing ability in various fields. I consider writing a passionate career and a platform through which I extend my intellectual ability.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.