Poets logo

This Heart of Mine:

Narrative Poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
This Heart of Mine:
Photo by Michael Fenton on Unsplash

So I will,

can it with love!

Place

my disappointed

heart

in a mason jar

There's not a thing,

YOU

can throw my way;

the tiniest gravel of doubt,

won’t crack!

This beaten bleeding-heart

Can't handle,

holding candle,

to you’re shallow-

BREATHE

On a unleveled

disheveled shelf

screwed on so tight,

sight, slight,spite

let salt in my

wounds

BRINE

the muscle!

Falling in love

is no side

hustle!

Ghost of a chance;

romance is dead

or mere mischance

perhaps!

This pounding

in my chest

is

so damn loud,

I feel weight

of each thump

crack a rib

like

fluid in my

knuckles;

As my heart

dissolves in vat

of my

own stomach acid;

like

Harvey Dent

My mind purely placid

Is the agony

I'm in,

a mindset

or

from my heart space?

Don't bother,

handling

with care,

I don’t easily scare!

I claim,

time infinitely mine

NO

toying, teasing, tarnishing

Loving on my terms

Here on out,

NO MORE

Emotional dumpster fire

leftover to pine!

This heart of mine,

No longer,

racing for shotgun!

Like

tracing hearts

on a fogged up window,

of a groggy mind!

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.