Poets logo

Thing of Your Past

Poems by Cheyenne

By Cheyenne ReuterPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

And it hurt so bad

When you pretended to be there

Your body stood next to me

But your mind wandered away

On the wings of a dragonfly

Down old paths I thought were forgotten

Through streams flooded with liquor

Into the deep blue sadness of a cloudless sky

And I missed you so bad

When I thought of the new paths we paved

The oceans we cleaned of poison

Days when the sun shined despite gray clouds

But I knew you had jumped

Though I tried to reel you back in

You tugged and tugged at the line until it snapped

Making me just another thing of the past

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.