Poets logo

Thine eyes, I do declare

I caught their twinkled stare

By BooPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Thine eyes, I do declare
Photo by Alvin Mahmudov on Unsplash

Thine eyes, I do declare, I caught their twinkled stare

And they caught me back, in ones and twos and deep vast blues

From across the room sat the wearers’ ware in a red velvet chair

I traversed the golden floor, pushing past silhouettes, following your hues

.

I approached in black satin, edged towards night

Your smile was quipped, a silver-tongued disguise

You asked me my drink, I replied, “Whiskey neat, just right”

When you leaned in close, the heat began to rise

.

Cuff links on skin, fingernails on neck’s peak

And then the way you looked at me, oh, so sweet

I was a blushing baby when you kissed my cheek

And then I died and went to heaven, the Gods arranged this meet

.

You swooned my knees weak, for you, I fell far

You caught me as I catch you, in love we still are

.

In one moment, in one night, we fell in love at first sight

And oh, baby, baby when I look into your eyes, it still feels just right

love poems
1

About the Creator

Boo

Writer of Poetry & Prose

Follow me: twirl and twist

Read my words: my sins, my trysts

Insta: @boo.jones.prose

Tiktok: @whothefuckisboo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.