Poets logo

Thief

A dream

By Desiree WetzPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Thief
Photo by Anastasia Taioglou on Unsplash

There’s a shift in the winds,

A thieving feeling in the air,

My body shakes with the nerves.

I dance a long the sand on the beach,

Shake off that feeling of my life irrevocably changing,

The salty air fills my lungs.

I breathe in and let my feet sink in more, I pick up some shells,

But quickly feed it back to the waves.

I twirl and stumble,

As I am about to fall,

I look up.

A man stands tall,

His eyes pierce mine,

A promise of forever makes my heart seize.

My body tingles,

My feet squeeze,

I finally find a breath.

Your blue eyes pierce me,

Promises unspoken,

I wake up from my dream.

I can’t slow my heart,

I hold onto my knees,

I forget everything about the dream except blue.

I shake it off,

I have to find my sleep again,

But this feels important.

The weeks fly,

I finally find the courage,

I walk on the sands.

Even though I tell myself not to hope,

My heart beats anxiously,

There is the thief with his blue eyes piercing me.

I blink once,

Twice,

And finally accept you found me.

Your eyes smile,

“What took you so long?”

The question startles me.

I take a steadying breath,

“How long have you been waiting?” I ask.

“Too long.”

You smile with a laugh,

“It’s no longer just a dream.”

I move closer,

Until our chests meet,

And place my hand on your cheek.

“Thief.” I whisper, “You stole my heart in a dream.”

love poems
1

About the Creator

Desiree Wetz

I have been intrigued with writing since I was twelve years old. At first, it was poetry but then in morphed into a love of fiction, fantasy, and adventure. When I'm not writing stories, I am running wild with my family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.