Poets logo

They Say We're In a Recession

a poem

By Kay HusnickPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
4
They Say We're In a Recession
Photo by StellrWeb on Unsplash

I want to spend my time writing, but I get off work at 5 and have to make dinner

I could order delivery, but that's $30+ and the potatoes on the counter are starting to sprout so I really should use them now

they are $5 a bag, and they say we're in a recession.

I want to spend my time writing, but I have homework every Wednesday and Sunday

That's if I do it all on the due date, but tuition is $1200 a month and I really should put more effort into grad school than that

that's a full paycheck, and they say we're in a recession.

I want to spend my time writing, but I pay for six streaming services instead of cable that has nothing on

I could use a show as background noise, but that's $462 a year to half-watch a show

that's $38.50 a month, and they say we're in a recession.

I want to spend my time writing, but I need to do laundry, wash dishes, and buy groceries

I could skip cutting digital coupons, but that's up to $15 in savings and half of my meal-planning process these days

that has me down to $4/meal if I'm careful, and they say we're in a recession.

I want to spend my time writing, but they say time is money and we're in a recession.

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentary
4

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a month ago

    The recession is about what we get paid. Inflation concerns what we in turn must pay.

  • Jazzy 2 months ago

    This is the type poetry I can only hope to write. Beautifully tied pithy commentary tied in at the end.

  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Hmmm.. Encouraging words to the writers!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.