Poets logo

They Said. I Thought.

Today you are you, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is youer than you. ~ Dr Seuss

By Caroline JanePublished about a year ago 1 min read
11
They Said. I Thought.
Photo by Sage Friedman on Unsplash

They said they did not like it.

I thought. An opinion. Good for you.

They said you'll never make it.

I thought. Against whose measure?

They said I wasn't good enough.

I thought. Potential is relative.

They said I had problems.

I thought, And don't we all?

They said I was weird.

I thought. Yes. I am unique!

They said we are what we are.

I thought. Until we are not.

They said things will never change.

I thought. Change is a constant.

They said I was annoying.

I thought. Fair enough!

They said you are not one of us

I thought. Thankfully, no.

They said I was a loser.

I thought. I don't play your game.

They said life would be hard for me.

I thought. They can't see in my head.

social commentaryinspirational
11

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • zaineb abrarabout a year ago

    Great! I can relate how it feels to be constantly discouraged!

  • I knwo what you mean , great words

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Perfect!! I loved this.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Love the message. Great cadence, good flow, empowering and affirming. Good work here.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Love this. She's got an answer for everything and confidence to burn. Really well done.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This is great! I love the alternating & contradictory POVs. :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.