Poets logo

They Mad

Family Do You Wrong Before AnyBody Else Will

By JLoveePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

They Mad

Because We Share The Same DNA

But Ain't Got Shit In Common

Except Genetics

They Try To Play

Like They Understand This Pain

But They Had Both Parents

While I Was Left In The Monsters Lap

They'll Never Understand

What It's Like

To Not Recognize Their Creator's Face

But Know Their Silhouette As They're Walking Away

It Just Is What It Is

They'll Never Get It

And That's Okay

We Just Not The Same

They Were Taught Love

While I Had To Survive

Then Learn What Love Is On My Own

Now That I Put My Love On Restriction

They Mad I Won't

Just Give It Away AnyMore

They Mad I Won't

Just Forgive Them Over And Over Again

I Did That Too Much

I'm Done

They Can Be Mad

I'm Taking Off The Cape

I'm Done Saving The Day

I Am Not Getting Stuck Like Them

Won't Be Like Them

Can't Be Like Them

They Full Of Resentment

Because They Got Stuck

While I Moved On

Let Them Go

So I Could Grow

I Can't Let The Little Eyes Looking At Me Down

Like They Did Me

Took Their Mistakes As A Lesson

That's Why All We Have In Common

Is DNA

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

JLovee

Poet. Story Teller. Not Here For A Long Time Just A Good Time..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.