Poets logo

They

a poem

By Kari McLeesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
They
Photo by Carolina Pimenta on Unsplash

A creeping in the doorway Lightly on your feet A sneaking in the hallway A rustle in the street. A snapping in the backyard A giggle from a tree A whisper in the still air They've finally come for me. A stirring in the kitchen A chill spreads on the floor A tapping at the window Someone has jammed the door. A creaking in the corner Shadows on the wall, My heart begins to flutter There's yelling in the hall. They're slipping 'neath the doorframe The lights are fading out I feel a hand upon me I try, but fail to shout. Pain is shooting through me A searing down my back Claws upon my every inch Submerse me into black.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Kari McLeese

teacher, wife, mom, bibliophile

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Moritz Bauerabout a year ago

    Well that definitely sounds like a nightmare ! Great storytelling. Thanks for sharing :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.