Poets logo

These verses contain math, mention substances, are political, and...

and almost don't rhyme

By Andrei Z.Published 9 months ago 2 min read
4

What if we live in the same world

But in different coordinate systems?

You—in Cartesian,

I—in cylindrical.

Thus, our life is nothing but

A multidimensional derision.

I always stay cynical,

You follow your gut.

For you, it's an axe and why (x & y),

For me, it's a row and fie (ρ & φ).

Sigh.

When the time comes

To sum things up,

To integrate our functions,

To show what we're worth,

Your volume element looks

Like a mere minuscule sugar cube

While mine—like an aged piece of cheese

Without holes, whole and holistic.

***

We may be made of the same

Molecular substances.

Well, we might even be

Identical twins (which we aren't),

Bearing almost identical genetic material,

Wearing identical pajamas.

But we still have our personal share of mutations.

And don't you forget about epigenetics!

***

And though we live on the same continent,

There're 93 million miles between us.

Or maybe even more, I'm bad at geography.

There are damn too many things I'm bad at.

Should I be ashamed?

Should you be embarrassed?

We'll never know the truth,

Because nobody ever answers

Rhetorical questions.

And I blame the government,

Even though there's not a tear in my heart.

***

It's truly amazing that the distance

Almost does not matter today.

All it can do is empty our wallets,

Or bring nostalgia to our mental door.

Knock-knock! Is that you?

Is that me?

***

Who invented free verse poetry?

[Not to be confused with blank verse.]

Not that it is evil,

Even the discovery of nuclear fission

Was not evil, despite its ugly children,

Fat Man and Little Boy.

But it seems to know no limit.

Free verse poems tend to spread

Like the plague in the middle ages.

Did Camus write a book about it?

Let's pray and hope that nobody

Will ever start writing enslaved verse poetry,

Or captive verse, or oppressed verse poetry.

It would be too much to live with.

social commentarysurreal poetryperformance poetry
4

About the Creator

Andrei Z.

Overthinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Hehe, really a delight to the ear and the mind. I really like what you did in this poem.

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Hey I think all my free verse are oppressive verses! 😅 I don’t know much about science or Camus, but I still enjoyed your slick work!

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Hey, you took my Camus! Seriously, I loved this one. So much in it (as your title suggested)... ;)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.