Poets logo

There You Are

Love at first sight

By J. LeePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Image received from https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.istockphoto.com%2Fillustrations%2Fself-love-mirror&psig=AOvVaw0wdfLkrOewoL4cpDMHEgS2&ust=1645911490956000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CAsQjRxqFwoTCOjhoqLom_YCFQAAAAAdAAAAABAm

From the moment I saw you

I knew it was true,

The one I had been searching for

I found when I met you.

Across the room I saw

Your appearance so clear.

My breath caught in my chest,

In my eye, was that a tear?

I looked you up and down,

I even had you spin around.

I couldn't believe my eyes,

Had I finally found my prize?

All it took was a haircut,

A change in clothes,

And a decent compression

Of what I call those.

But for the first time I saw

True love in my eyes.

In this moment,

I no longer believed the lies.

My first time wearing a binder, finally feeling love at the person in the mirror

I looked in the mirror,

It was finally clear!

The person reflected,

My true love it seemed,

Was finally me.

"There you are,"

I whispered,

Afraid to speak up.

If the words were much louder

I was terrified the mirror could shatter.

I'd spent many a year

Looking for your image.

Hiding myself away,

Trapped in a cycle so vicious.

Never again

Will I hide behind the mask.

No longer

Will I put myself last.

My name is Jordan-

Pronouns They, Them, and Theirs.

Now that I finally see me,

I love me without care.

Living life in my truth, loving me as I am

love poems
3

About the Creator

J. Lee

French enthusiast, non-binary trans person, artist, writer, lover of animals, space, and the right for every living thing to experience their existence authentically.

Pronouns: they/them (English) iel (French)

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.