Poets logo

There's Something Odd With Mr. Todd

Children's Horror

By Teresa Evelyn HartPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Story and Illustration by Teresa Hart

There’s something odd with Mr. Todd

But he didn’t always act this way

Carefree was his nature

And mischief was his game

As far as this cat was concerned

The world was just a playground

Until curiosity got the best of him

That was when he turned

He wandered in the field one day

And came back looking odd

His eyes seemed very different

Is this Mr. Todd?

I tried not to think much of it

So I pushed away the dread

But things at home became strange

Oh, how I wish he never fed

He eyed our fish

Our fish were gone

He eyed our birds

Our birds were gone

I ran into the kitchen

And tried to tell my mom!

She sipped her coffee and

Just as I feared

Laughed at my imagination

Saying it was weird

I heard a muffled scream

Coming from the living room

I barged in to see an awful sight

The beginning of our doom

Down our kitten went

Down his deepened throat

I told my dad who raised an eyebrow

While taking off his coat

He glanced at Mr. Todd

Ignored that he looked strange

He patted my head and walked off

Can’t he see our cat has changed?

Things had gotten worse

Later on that night

Had I known what he would do

I’d have run away in fright!

He eyed my little sister

My little sister’s gone

He eyed my father

My father’s gone

He eyed my mother

My mother’s gone

He eyed me and…

The sound of dripping I recalled

His most hated moments

Of soaps and suds all around

So I darted down the hall

I dashed towards the bathroom

I locked the door and wept

I wished my family were still here

His shadow on the wall had crept

A last thought that crossed my mind

And made me feel so bitter

On this wretched, cursed night was

“There’s something odd with Mr. Todd.”

childrens poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.