Poets logo

There's a Monster Under Your Bed

Just a little spooky poem I wrote.

By Sophia RosadoPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

There’s a monster under her bed…

Ha, what garbage.

Before the story started,

My husband wasn’t so retarded.

My daughter used to play outside,

To slide down the slide,

And her eyes open wide.

Until one day she had to grow up.

She couldn’t sleep with mommy and daddy anymore,

But she made it her mission to get what she wanted,

And it was becoming a bore.

I remember her saying,

“There’s a monster under my bed!”

That’s how it all began,

She was getting into her father’s head.

I’d tell her it wasn’t true,

The monsters her mind drew,

But her father wouldn’t come through.

“Darling, back me up here!”

I’d scream as he carried her into our room.

She’d smirk at me,

Eyes filled with evil and doom.

For months and months she played us against each other.

My husband and I arguing and bickering,

Over a little girl’s imagination,

While she’s on the sideline snickering.

“She’s making this up!”

“She’s our little girl!”

“She’s pinning us against each other!”

“Now that’s a wild swirl!”

She was getting what she wanted.

Not to be in mommy and daddy’s bed,

But to have daddy to herself and daddy was buying it!

Was he brain dead?

Soon it became too late and too much.

My husband was in her grips and she wasn’t going to let go,

I made a final decision,

To take on a different role.

I finally left,

And I know you’re thinking, “Over something like this?”

As a matter of fact, yes.

If my husband wishes to believe his daughter’s fairytales,

Then so be it!

Soon, she took my place in my husband and I’s bed.

It was too rotten and disgusting.

Sure, they were daughter and father,

But over a fib of monsters? How enchanting.

Then one night,

She was left home alone.

Daddy had to go back to work

To find his lost phone.

I made up my mind,

This was my time,

Time to commit a hideous crime instead of making up another rhyme.

I had enough!

It was her time to feel fear and not be in her father’s head.

So you know what daughter? You’re right.

There’s a monster under your bed.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sophia Rosado

Hey! My name is Sophia.

I don't have anything fancy to say other than I love Jesus, food, and writing. Hope you enjoy your stay!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.