Poets logo

There He Was

A poem for a man I loved

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 2 years ago • 2 min read
Like
There He Was
Photo by Mitchell Luo on Unsplash

And there he was,

It 'twas the love of my life.

Hiding just around that very corner.

For all that, my eyes truly could see,

There you were.

I had thought that I had recognized you from somewhere.

I had felt lost before you had found me.

I never want to feel that way again.

Lost.

I never want to feel alone without you.

For all my heart truly wants is you, my love.

Does that scare you as it scares me?

My heart is a hungry beast.

That has loved you from afar,

For quite too long.

My heart has been left out in the cold for what feels as almost a decade.

I admired you back then.

I still do now.

You're quite the man to conquer.

Quite the person to impress.

I wonder when we will finally meet.

I wonder, to some degree,

How you could ever really feel about me?

I know how our story will end up being.

Cheers to the friends,

The ones that loved each other behind closed doors for years too long.

The ones that will never completely forgive the other person.

To the romantic ones.

To the ones with courage.

That thirst that I feel without you,

Is a desire I never want to feel again.

You were right there back then.

Time and time again.

I could repeat myself over and over.

Till my words run out.

Restart a cycle with you that will never end.

But I still can't help but notice you.

Care for you from afar.

While you hid from your truth.

I'll live within mine.

There you just were.

The love of my life.

Whom I also hope to never see again.

Does that sound crazy?

Because I do know that I'm not enough.

Crazy as it may be, you're still my best friend and always will be.

Chloe Rose Violet

P.S. Don't forget to tip your writer. :)

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.