Poets logo

Then; the Harvest

Be diligent

By Judey Kalchik Published 5 months ago 1 min read
8
Author’s photo

Sometimes the harvest comes early .

(I see you lettuce!).

Sometimes it seems like it will never come at all.

You carefully prepare.

Spend all your energy in planning.

Sweat.

Bruise.

Bleed.

Ache.

Get just filthy.

Fight off intruders.

Cry for the things you’ve lost.

Try to learn from the failures.

And think it’s over.

But.

Grace.

Things that are not visible to you

There when you need them.

A call can be a lifeline.

Texts remind you you are seen.

Sometimes the harvest is there all along.

Nourishment provided to give you strength to go on.

These- baby beets and carrots from our garden.

Author photo

Part of our meal of today

as snow coats the ground.

Every day our actions plant seeds for the future.

Someday I’m the encourager

Offering strength

Other days my need is met by others.

May your harvest always be joyful

May your blessings always be in season.

-

Comments always welcomed.

inspirational
8

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    Amen.

  • Your carrots and beets are so wonderful! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.