Poets logo

The Zoo

A Dream?

By C Jyl ParkerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Zoo
Photo by Dušan veverkolog on Unsplash

The Zoo

By C. Jyl Parker

I dreamed a lion ate my heart,

While caged within a zoo.

And other beasts were waiting there

To eat parts of me, too.

They’d taken all my insides out,

I couldn’t figure why,

But I was sure their system

Wouldn’t work, and I would die.

They said I was their guinea pig

And couldn’t leave at all.

Forever would my tin heart tick

Behind their iron wall.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

C Jyl Parker

Starting from the fairy stories and poems of childhood, I've always had an interest in the fantasy, adventure and science fiction worlds. Although I've done a lot of writing over the years, I've published only a few short stories and poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • C Jyl Parker (Author)about a year ago

    Thank you! :-)

  • Melissa Armedaabout a year ago

    This was a satisfying read!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.