Poets logo

The year of lovers

They've got only a year

By Matt B.Published 6 months ago 1 min read
2

Girl, we’ve got only a year

And I know you yearn for much more

But we’ve got only a year

To let love grow under the Sun

To whisper loving sounds in your ear

So you shout and laugh with no fear

And this will be our year

From tonight on, we’ll be surrounded

Only by caresses from the other

And tonight

Tomorrow

Everyday!

All the day

I’ll be yours

You’ll be mine

And for all this year

We’ll be fine

Milk and honey drip from your mouth

I’ll drink desperately your healing salve

To dream of you at night!

And when I wake up, rush

Grab the phone, nervously dial your number

“Who’s there? Is it you my Romeo?”

And I’ll first smile,

Scream in ecstasy inside

Ignore your questions

And gasping, I’ll ask

“Did you dream of me also?

Didn’t hours suffice?

Wasn’t time spent together enough?

And in dreams emerged my thought?”

Oh, my dear! Princess, lover

How Cupid blessed me with his power

And made me in love with you, my lover

Crumbling castles

Earthquakes bring dazzle

The sky falls from above

Madness unleashed below

But us?

Us?

We’re standing still

With you by my side

The vessel of love fill

With a kiss, Waltz of lips

Cuddle of tongues

The joy of my teeth

This year will never end

And when it does, love will say...

I’ll carry you in my heart

And remember this idyllic time

My lover, this year

Will be our year

And this love

Will be ours,

As you’ll be mine

And I’ll be yours.

***

Thank you for reading! If you liked this poem and its theme, please feel free to check out this other poem about love:

artvintagesurreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsinspirational
2

About the Creator

Matt B.

He/Him

A romantic reader and an amateur writer who likes to write non-conventional stories and unusual plot lines.

I read romantic era fiction and find myself lost in the pages of Dumas' "The Count of Montecristo" and Shelley's "Frankenstein"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Fantastic poem i really enjoy. Keep sharing well

  • Awww, this was so sweet and lovely. Such a wonderful poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.