Poets logo

The year 2020

The hardest for us all

By Hannah SmithPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
The year 2020
Photo by Immo Wegmann on Unsplash

2020 started off as any other.

Everyone excited for a new year starting to start a new chapter of themselves.

Little did we know life was gonna take a very dark turn very fast for the entire world.

We all got locked in our homes with no answers to how long we would be here for.

Some were locked home alone, some had roommates and some had their family.

Through the terrifying and scary times we all learned new things.

The people who were alone realized how important it was to be surrounded by their loved ones.

People surrounded by their family realized how important time with themselves really was.

Yes 2020 was a terrible year for most but look at you, you survived the hardest times.

Maybe you had to learn to be okay all alone which you had never had to do before.

Maybe you had to learn to be with people all the time rather than isolate yourself away.

We had a year of ups and downs. We were locked up in a cage and then we were free and people needed out. They went to parties and gatherings because being alone was too terrifying for some.

Some ran to there apartments to be alone because they couldn’t take being with people 24/7.

We then were told things were getting worse and rather than people go back to what we were in before, they ran to people so they could see them before everything was shut down again.

I don’t blame the people who broke some rules because being alone was suicide to their Brian’s.

I don’t blame the people running from loved ones to have a chance to breathe alone in peace.

But now more than ever we need to come together as a world in distance to help one another be okay in this terrifying situation.

Stay home but maybe self quarantine with a friend rather than alone so you have someone.

I understand this is no easy life style for anyone.

We all need someone.

But please let’s work together to save our world from the hurt we are feeling.

I learned so much about myself.

I graduated university, when I only thought I’d fail.

I woke up everyday when I thought I was done with life.

I pushed through some of my hardest days.

We can all do it.

I believe in every person in this world that we can get through it.

It’s no easy task.

It’s hell some days believe me I know.

But surviving until tomorrow is something to be proud of.

You don’t need a diploma or an award to be proud of yourself.

Seeing the sun rise or sun set is something to be proud of.

We are all trying.

And trying is the best thing you can do.

It’s hard, some days it feels like torture but you’re doing it!

I’m proud of you.

Keep pushing.

We can do this.

Stay strong.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Hannah Smith

Hi, I'm Hannah! Welcome to my story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.