Poets logo

the writin’ life in a nutshell

where I am and where I will be it all depends on where I have been

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

I wake up in the middle of the night

with pleasin’ comfort inside

there is no one and no evil around

only a fulgurant screen

of my laptop

my books scattered on too many shelves

in two countries, not yet

fully found

although I anticipate

every detail inside of them

the writer’s struggle over the centuries

wars with countries and with ourselves

drinkin’ problems, sheddin’ light

on adulterous husbands and wives

murder cases, imaginable worlds

escapes from prisons and all sorts

of unsolved cases

on the road, on railroad tracks

on cliffs and runnin’ paths

for what the writer writes must be backed up

by a right inspiration for all of this life

it still lures me toward itself

as if it gently remindin’ me

that this is the comfort I always yearn to feel

despite too many awkward positions

leadin’ me there

yet I know that in the end

I am attracted to the light of the banker’s lamp like an insect

because that’s my writin’ beacon

thanks to which I always feel

at home

and I would never want to trade it for heaven

as long as I can feel the blood pulsin’ in my veins

because writin’ from the guts has always been

my main target on earth

*

September 2022

***

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

inspirationalsad poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetryvintage
4

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.