Poets logo

The World Forgets

It's not about the world

By Emma SumsionPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The World Forgets
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

The world is constantly moving, unaware that I even exist in it.

The sun rises and falls.

People come and go.

Time never stops ticking, but I always want it to slow.

Technically to the world, I'm unimportant.

Expendable.

Replaceable.

Forgettable.

I likely won’t be in any history books.

There won’t be movies made about me.

And after everyone I know is gone, there won’t be any memories.

But I don’t exist for others.

I don’t exist for the world to recognize me.

I’m not living to make a legacy.

I’m here so that I can remember me.

I want to be able to look back and not regret.

I want to have lived, not just existed.

I want to have loved, not just been loved.

I want to have laughed, not just made others laugh.

I want to have lived to my fullest and done everything I could.

So that when the sunsets, I remember me and not what I hadn’t done.

The world forgets, and it always will.

Lives are short, time always outlives.

But I won’t forget the world, or the people.

Because that was my world, the one that I won’t regret.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Emma Sumsion

Hello there!

I'm a young college student trying to figure out what I want in life. Learning to follow my passions instead of putting them aside for a later date.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.