Poets logo

The Words 'I do'

A Poem about the Rarity of Marriages

By CarolinePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Words 'I do'
Photo by Belinda Fewings on Unsplash

When I think of something rare,

One thing does come to mind;

Maybe it is because of the world we live in,

But we seem to have left it behind.

I don't know when it all changed,

I don't even want to;

I just have come to the terms,

That there's little meaning in the words "I do".

It used to be a promise,

Words from the heart;

A vow by two people,

To bind a marriage and new start.

But now, who wants to get married?

People just want a domestic partnership;

They don't need to ask for a hand in marriage,

When it's just an open relationship.

There used to be courting,

There used to be a chase;

There used to be love letters,

Even a date with a time and place.

Now there is a rise in divorces,

Constant cheating and affairs,

There seems to be little regard,

To the trust and honesty in pairs.

Oh, the commitments of a marriage,

Following morals and done with truth,

It seems society has found it hard to be faithful,

Is seems to become more rare with our generation and youth.

The words "I do" seem so simple,

Maybe that is why a rarity it's come to be;

I mean what other two words,

Could cause two people to feel so unfree.

I want to have hope in humanity,

I want to think the best in us all;

But how do I trust to fall in love in this world,

When I see hearts broken and self-esteems fall?

So here comes the ultimate question,

Should marriage be considered 'endangered'?

If they are so rare in this world now,

Is there a fix to all this bad-natured?

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Caroline

My name is Caroline and I am an avid reader, writer and dreamer. I write for fun and to express all the crazy thoughts in my head. I love sharing my stories and experiences with others!

Wattpad: https://www.wattpad.com/user/caroline_1626

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.