Poets logo

The Wonder of You

A meeting among the stars.

By Syed Arabi KhaliquePublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
A meeting among the stars

Dear Jackie,

Bless I those hours that led to our meeting,

And curse I those that kept us apart.

The sunshine grew paler in my eyes,

As the sight of one descended upon me.

It was not the fevered admiration of the youth,

Nor the bewitched mind that spoke.

Rather, it were the glimpses of a certain future,

Under a twilight sky, with illuminating lights surrounding us.

My mother, sisters, aunts and uncles, and cousins were there

And in that crowd of merriment you were too.

Not often do I feel this way, so this feeling is strange,

But not unwanted it is, as a spark for the unlit candle.

Thousands of words I have written before for many,

Yet fake now they all seem, devoid of any meaning,

But now, even though few I am writing,

They seem honest and wholesome,

And for that in me rises a hope and a fear.

As I look to you again on a new day,

I say this.

In these hands shall I hold yours

And with these eyes will I see you.

My ears shall hear your voice

and mine shall tell you,

Of all the wonders beyond the seven seas,

Of all the secrets beneath the oceans,

Of all the lands that rivers run through, and the legends of them.

I hope they give you joy, madam

Cause for me they hold joy no more,

As I have seen the Wonder,

The Wonder of You.

Sincerely,

Arabi

love poems
2

About the Creator

Syed Arabi Khalique

I am a guy from Jersey who is trying to put down in words what nightmares afflict him, hoping that will somewhat sweeten the deadly ordeal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.