Poets logo

The Womb

Embryo

By Claire IbarraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
An Ocean of Love

He hears me toss-

restless.

My lover awakens

to spoon me,

bodies contoured,

holding hands…

breath on my neck.

And at my belly,

small body,

my lover’s child-

the son who gets

scared at night.

We are all cradled,

protected embryos,

me at the center-

nurturing like the womb

in this collective body,

emanating the love

of a mother.

The cat at our

feet, curled

and purring,

encasing me

further, reminding

me of our need

for each other.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Claire Ibarra

Claire is the author of Fragile Saints, a novel published by Adelaide Books in 2021. Claire’s poetry chapbook Vortex of Our Affections was published by Finishing Line Press in 2017.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.