Poets logo

The Woman I Love

By Saffron

By Saffron SagePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Tears Of Grace

THE WOMAN I LOVE

I walk into the sunlit room,

feeling a deep sense of gloom.

Am I walking or do I crawl?

Every day holds a possible brawl.

I see a flicker across the room,

a mirror reflects my pending doom.

My tense held body and messy hair,

I definitely lack my normal flair.

Eyes rimmed red while holding back tears,

I have felt this way for so many years.

I sought love from an angry other,

thought I could please him…now why bother.

Unless I give every part of me,

he can’t seem to let me be.

Too often shouting or being cruel,

I feel trapped in a constant duel.

I hear a whisper from the mirror over there,

the sad woman whispers that she still cares.

I loved you then and I love you now,

she silently begs me to take a vow.

Discover inside what you desire,

work towards it and never retire.

Hold yourself first,

stop accepting the worst.

Pamper yourself and your will to live,

prepare to receive the same love that you give.

I love the woman you have become,

please stop resorting to feeling numb.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Saffron Sage

"We accept the love we think we deserve."

What makes a life worth living? Collecting whispers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.