Poets logo

The Wolf’s Poem

Show me love…

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
The Wolf’s Poem
Photo by Grégoire Bertaud on Unsplash

I won’t let a grim peer lie and tell me what love can’t be for me,

when I know with my soul what can wane my howl as a lone wolf lost in the low moon,

not when I’ve seen the wind help bees soar with a big body that many said can not be,

and saw a baby leap out of a mom that was told she’s too old and too weak to give the gift of a good life,

and felt the joy of a pup who can still grin even when pain has come and gone year to year,

why give up on the love that can be just a step away from the hold of my hand,

or a move from the back of my mind to the once cold left side of my bed,

I will not join in the band of ones who toot their own out of tune horns,

now too deep in the dark to pull in the high sun and save,

too deep in a sad hole to see that they used to care as much as me,

used to flow free with hope on their side and knew we may lose but one day we can gain more,

that we can cry then pry till we rise from the ash and have the fire to move on,

and used to know that love can wane a howl of a lone wolf lost in the low moon,

I won’t let a grim peer lie and tell me what love can’t be for me,

but if soon I see how easy it can be to fall and not be able to get back up,

I owe it to me to find my feet when I’m down and I don’t feel I can move,

or I fear I won’t be able to lift the same as I have for so long,

and all the lies I’ve ran from will turn into all that I can hear…

nature poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.