Poets logo

The Wolf Queen

The mysterious encounter

By Angelica MorrisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Wolf Queen
Photo by Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

Wolf queen, blooded blade

I wandered until I came upon her, beckoning me closer.

Her gaze was liquid amber and her hair was the smoke of a thousand fires

As she swirled around me I heard the wolves begin to howl and the crows scream and swirl about.

The watcher and the hunter, she held me close and whispered to me in a million tongues that so clearly were understood, “don’t be afraid of the dark” she said, and when I arose, I was whole.

She rendered unto me the blood of the vanquisher, the wolf’s cunning, the crow’s wise eye. The flaming brand cannot be seen, but it burns nonetheless upon my savage heart.

This is what it means to be free. We are the pack, we are her kindred, we are the old ones reborn.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Raymond G. Taylor2 years ago

    ... incidentally, a have published quite a short stories and flash, some of them here if you are interested: https://vocal.media/fiction/children-of-the-wolf

  • Delightful and evocative. Well written! I will include a mention in my weekly reviews slot which will be published on Vocal later this week. You will find a link here once I have posted the latest reviews for this week: https://vocal.media/journal/this-week-s-short-story-reviews

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.