Poets logo

The Well

Floating on the bottom

By Kristin BrownPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Well
Photo by Steven Wright on Unsplash

I feel so restless, I’m always on edge

I've nowhere to go, my options are few

There's a downward spiral, I'm on the ledge

Take my hand and I'll pull you down, too

I look at myself, an expressionless face

With eyes so dark that no one could see

There's a stairwell that leads to an empty place

Stay here and I'll take you down with me

There's a twisted path where weeds have grown

With dark, murky waters to walk through

It's a descending maze and I travel alone

Let me go or I'll bring you down, too

There are many things I'll never make right

There's a jar full of memories, some only confuse

It's a deep, dark well with no end in sight

I float on the bottom, along with my muse

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kristin Brown

Writing is my passion, storytelling is my escape, poetry is the best therapist ever. It’s equal parts helium and lead. It’s both butterfly and albatross. It’s 100% sending my child into the world, hoping you’ll like her for who she is.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.