Poets logo

House

You can’t get there from here

By Kristin BrownPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
House
Photo by Edan Cohen on Unsplash

Come wander through this haunted house and see things through my eyes

My thoughts and dreams and fantasies are covered up with lies

I'll offer you a private tour that you cannot resist

I'll give you a colorful, detailed map to a place that doesn't exist

You'll find empty rooms cluttered with things nobody knows

With windows that no longer open and doors that will never close

I'll lead you down a darkened hall and then flip on the light

But you won't find the treasure trove that you thought you might

You'll feel the cut of shattered glass and you might hear the sound

But you won't know where it's coming from or if it can be found

You'll find a stack of letters that were stamped but never sent

You'll read blank pages of cryptograms but won't know what they meant

These walls hold all the secrets that are buried deep inside

They'll whisper to you softly that you can run but never hide

There's a closet full of heartache in a room I'll never show

Where I pulled the pin from a live grenade but refused to let it go

You won't know what to make of the red paint spilled on the floor

But you'll begin to understand why I can't live here anymore

You'll look at me, astonished, and you'll ask if I'm okay

But all I'll do is smile at you and then shrug and walk away

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kristin Brown

Writing is my passion, storytelling is my escape, poetry is the best therapist ever. It’s equal parts helium and lead. It’s both butterfly and albatross. It’s 100% sending my child into the world, hoping you’ll like her for who she is.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.