Poets logo

The Weight of Loss

A Poem of Grief and Healing

By JojoPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
The Weight of Loss
Photo by Samuel Austin on Unsplash

The weight of loss is heavy
A burden that I can't shake
For the one I loved is gone from me
And my heart is left to ache

The world keeps spinning round and round
For the love that we once shared
Is now just an empty space

The memories we made together
Are bittersweet reminders of what's lost
And the pain in my heart grows stronger
As I count the moments, at such a cost

The nights are long and endless
Filled with tears and endless pain
For the love we shared was a once in a lifetime
And now I'm left with this heavy chain

The weight of loss is crushing
A burden that I can't ignore
For the one I loved is gone from me
And I'm left to bear it all

The weight of loss is heavy
But in time, it may grow light
For healing comes with each passing day
And the memories, though bittersweet, will keep me bright

So I'll keep on walking forward
And hold onto the love we knew
For though the weight of loss is heavy
The light of love will see me through.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Jojo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.