Poets logo

The Weight of Judgment

This how I feel

By Mercedes CoutoPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2
The Weight of Judgment
Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

:



My heart hangs heavy in my chest
As I face their eyes of discontent
For errors made in younger days
When wisdom had not made its way

Though years have passed since those dark times
And I've worked hard to make amends
Their gazes still hold doubt and pain
As if no progress has been gained

I know I caused hurt, broke their trust
With foolish deeds and wanderlust
But I hoped with time and change shown
Their faith in me could be regrown

It pains me so to see the cost
Of reckless choices made and lost
I'd give all I have to erase
The past's shadow on each face

But judgment casts a weighty net
On soul and spirit, cold and wet
Though I've shed old skin, transformed within
The past, to them, is not yet dim

With patience, love, and gentle care
Perhaps one day that weight I'll bear
No more, those shadows and dark clouds
Of disapproving eyes and doubts

I'll show them all the person I've become
No longer haunted by what I've done
And judgement will release its grip
As forgiveness lets their love resurface

For now I'll bear this test of time
Make amends for each past crime
And hope someday they'll clearly see
The change that's happened deep in meJudgment

heartbreaksad poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was a very emotional poem. I loved it!

  • C.S LEWIS6 months ago

    This is great work you can join my friends and read what I have just prepared for you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.