Poets logo

the webs

(you spin)

By Sara Published 2 months ago 1 min read
10

the webs you spin

are strung of soft lips

and gentle fingers.

the threads you tie

are gold

that make my eyes shine.

the strings you weave

are words

i never want to stop hearing.

you’re mine/don’t leave me/wait, I love you.

my arms are tied

to your truth

that is a lie.

my heart is bound

to your

empty chest.

my tears are stuck

in my throat

because i don’t want to cry.

i’m yours/i won’t leave you/i can’t say it back.

wool over my eyelids,

stuffed in my ears

like cotton balls,

your fingers weave

a web

in the shape of me.

heartbreak
10

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶2 months ago

    Congratulations on winning Poppy”s March Prompts… this is very cleverly written heartache.

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Really excellent! Very well crafted piece featuring such strong web imagery!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    -My heart is bound to your empty chest- 😮🤩 I see why this won the challenge. Great work, Sara.

  • Poppy 2 months ago

    Oh. My. Gosh. This is incredible. Utterly enthralling start to finish. Literally every single line of this is a masterpiece.

  • Lindsay Sfara2 months ago

    Wow, the imagery and impact behind this poem. I was absolutely mesmerized while reading. Well done!

  • "My arms are tied to your truth that is a lie". Loved that line the most!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.