Poets logo

The Way Of The World

Teaching Me Life

By Om Prakash John GilmorePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Snapping the Chains Together

The Way Of The World

John W. Gilmore

Alone in my room with

my 8 track tape playing

click, by click, by click.

Earth, Wind, and Fire tunes spill out

filling the space with possibilities.

A barrier of love between my age of

innocence and the drumbeat of pushers,

gangs, and guns

on what used to be my favorite corner.

The college kids, in fancy cars,

safari across the bridge that covers the

one railroad

track left over

after the six lane highway dividing the city

between black and white,

opportunity and economic depression

was constructed,

making a smooth,

swooping circle from suburbia

to drugs and back again.

Nothing as serious as crack,

that would come later,

but the same pain and suffering,

guns and gangs,

early deaths of bodies,

hopes, and dreams

that hang around the edges of the perfect

neighborhood for an economy built on the

exchange of street medicine

designed to heal the ills of a poor community,

Or keep it tranquilized enough,

at least, to suck the blood of the people down to

the marrow

and reinstitute voluntary slavery.

But they say I should keep my head to the sky,

be ever wonderful, stay as you are,

you're a shining star,

and hearts of fire create love's desire,

take you high and higher to your place on the

throne.

The gurus of this young man

shut out of the yoga centers, ashrams, and

Buddhist temples through cultural

displacement

and financial segregation,

or by the fear, deeply implanted in my psyche

telling me that anything not included in the

slaver's religion is the devil.

Left to find the Beloved on my own in a city with a

church on every corner

through the magic of songs pointing to the light

that transforms the darkness and awakens the

human soul through rhythm, beat, and lyrics

saturated with living waters.

We come together on this special day to sing our

message loud and clear.

Looking back we've touched on sorrowful days,

future, past they disappear.

You will find peace of mind if you look way down in your heart and soul.

Don't hesitate because the world seems cold.

Stay young at heart because you're never, ever old. That's the way of the world.

The way of the world.

There I was washed upon a shore, crying my heart out, I just can't take no more.

My life had come to an end. I was ready to give in.

I closed my eyes for one last silent prayer, only to look up and find you standing there.

I looked into your eyes and then I realized I'm in love.

With you my love.

With all my heart and you can never,

never give up on your dreams.

Never give up on your dreams!

© April 14, 2013

Please visit us and read more and pass this on if you like what you are reading.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Om Prakash John Gilmore

John (Om Prakash) Gilmore, is a Retired Unitarian Universalist Minister, a Licensed Massage Therapist and Reiki Master Teacher, and a student and teacher of Tai-Chi, Qigong, and Nada Yoga. Om Prakash loves reading sci-fi and fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.