Poets logo

The Way All Lovers Do

I wasn’t looking for Mr. Right. Just hungry for Mr. Someone.

By Lizzie SagePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

You sip on your whiskey

I soak in my gin and ginger ale

They ask about how we met

And our eye decide who will recount the tale.

Hot summer night

Was in the peak of July

Swiping through Tinder

I came across this guy:

Blue eyed, handsome,

Thirty-one

I wasn’t looking for Mr. Right

Just hungry for Mr. Someone.

Someone to distract me

To enjoy each other's company

The kind of many who takes pleasure in

Pleasingly the womanly.

I swiped right

Soon after he did too

And I sent him “Hi, handsome”

Unbeknownst to him, my signature move.

Interesting and intriguing

We chatted late into the night

Easy and smooth and intelligent

To be cliché; this feels so right.

Two nights of this

Talking until late

We agree to meet for coffee

For our first rendezvous date.

I’m there first

I’m overdressed

I pay for yours

And you protests.

Much to my delight

You sit down too close

I drink my tea too quickly

My eyes give away what I want most.

I take you to my studio

Small and bare and grey

I’m just looking for something physical

You’re more than willing to obey.

And these details we don’t share

Baby they’re just between us two

How did you meet? Well, somehow clandestinely

Just the way all lovers do.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Lizzie Sage

Queer and newly craving men. Black coffee and bold kisses.

Stand up comic and poet.

Read my poetry on insta: @lustypoetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.