Poets logo

The waves of fear

By Timothy E JonesPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like

Every day holds something new that comes crashing down upon me

Fear, anxiety and anger have no distinction as to when they show up

I could be asleep in my bed or down in the park watching the ducks

I could be in the midst of talking with friends or even in structured chaos

When that happens I remove myself from the situation whichever it may be

In my mind I go to the shore; out on the breakers where the wild waves roar

Out there the waves are my fear, anxiety and anger as they beat upon the rocks that are there

They beat and rant in an attempt to rial up my unneeded anger and fear

I can hear the angry water around me with its own form of anger and fear

But the waves that are beating they get broken apart as they crash against the rocks

I can hear a voice in the air of total chaos saying just three calming words; "Peace, be still"

I know that the words are for both me and the wave, and from there on, there is nothing to fear from a now broken wave.

I let the water from that now broken wave fall upon me as it may

Because the intensity of the wave has completely fallen away

I feel the water of the wave as it falls onto my face it soaks me completely

It do me no harm as it moves on its way, pulling my fear and anger away

I watch the wave as it puddles away and goes back to the source from where it came

I smell the salt air, as it is ionized and charges me with a fresh energy

taste the salt water that are filled with much needed electrolytes

And finally I can walk away to face a new day

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Timothy E Jones

What is there to say: I live in Philadelphia, but wish I lived somewhere else, anywhere else. I write as a means to escape the harsh realities of the city and share my stories here on Vocal, even if I don't get anything for my efforts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.