Poets logo

The Waltz Behind My Writing

Some say music is distracting while writing, but I have to disagree...

By Charleigh JusticePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
The Waltz Behind My Writing
Photo by Lee Campbell on Unsplash

I sit down to write.

My headphones jump over my ears,

Accustomed to the routine we have created together over the years

As I run my fingers over the keyboard

And bop my head to the beat gushing into my brain like warm water.

The same five playlists

Have the deed to my rickety old shed of a heart,

Embracing me with comforting hugs when I'm low

And inspiring the worlds I forge out of nothingness as I write.

Each song has been my favorite at one point or another,

But I love them all the same.

When an unfamiliar song skips my track, though,

Sometimes I am inclined to pause before stabbing the arrow yelling "Skip!"

There are times when the fresh, never-heard-before melodies

Grasp me tight by the shoulders

And demand I listen to their stories.

Other times the unique patterns of rhythms and beats

Cause me to forget my keyboard entirely and stare off into space,

Daydreaming in awe the portrait the song has painted so masterfully for me.

It is in these moments that I rush to the green plus button off to the side of the screen

And gingerly poke at the touchpad,

Blissfully knowing that I have added another masterpiece to my collection.

art

About the Creator

Charleigh Justice

Hello! My name is Charleigh, and I am a freelance writer taking a gap year before studying creative writing and theatre in college. I love writing and constructing sentences from nothing, and I hope you enjoy the ones I've made for you!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Charleigh JusticeWritten by Charleigh Justice

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.