Poets logo

The Wait

Written using the quintilla, and attempting all rhyme pattern variations.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 2 min read
8
The Wait
Photo by James Lee on Unsplash

The quintilla is a Spanish poetic form that, as you may have guessed from the name, uses five-line stanzas. Here are the guidelines:

- Five-line stanzas. - Eight syllables per line. - An ab rhyme scheme in which at least two lines use the “a” rhyme and at least two lines use the “b” rhyme… - But the stanza cannot end with a rhyming couplet. As such, these are the possible rhyme pattern variations:

- abaab, ababa, abbab, aabab, aabba Writer’s Digest, Robert Lee Brewer

****

“The Wait”

I sure hate a wait, I sure do

Especially a wait for grands

My children do not have a clue

Missing them, and I feel so blue

I just have to sit on my hands

~

Son and granddaughter are here soon

I can’t wait, and please don’t be late

I am guessing it will be noon

Later, and that I will sure hate

It feels like they are from the moon

~

Basketball games for two grands yet

I will be waiting in the stands

One Eight and one nine-year-old grands

playing BB ball, which I get

to watch without any demands

~

The kids’ games are every weekend

I am always glad when they end

A short season is always best

I wish basketball was my friend

Never been and I do not jest

~

So, I will spend my time watching

I suppose I could be skating

I’d rather not and I am glad

waiting for a girl and her dad

Did I say, I hate this waiting

~~~~~

P.S. I tried all rhyme pattern variations in one Quintilla. Also, I changed the cover photo as I already used that photo a year ago for another piece on cancer.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

First published by Write Under the Moon medium.com.

performance poetryhumor
8

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Beautiful & loved this!!!💕❤️❤️

  • I'm extremely impatient so I hate waiting too, lol. This form of poetry seems so complex but you executed it brilliantly!

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Thank you for introducing to a new form yet again. I don’t like waiting either 💗

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    I love the flow of this. It was great

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.