Poets logo

THE VOID

(IS ACTUALLY FULL OF STARS)

By Jordan TrippeerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

You are not alone.

You only think you are.

Dust particles tossed around like hearts for the breaking.

And we are dust in the maelstrom of a chaotic universe

that tries to love itself and fails.

Sometimes a particle dances with another, before

invisible currents through empty space take us away from each other.

I am spinning recklessly through a void of my own making.

Looking for connection in opposing magnetic fields,

wondering why the other specks are repelled by me.

Surely it’s me, something lonely in me that churns the frenzied storming winds,

flinging the closest dust into the darkness.

I lost my ship when I drifted

and there’s only the slimmest chance a random current will sweep me up again

and twirl me around another heart that’s breaking.

I take solace thinking of you, you wild speck of paint

dancing through the universe.

Dreaming of me, and you don’t even know it.

Can you sense me? Whoever you are?

We are not alone.

We only think we are.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jordan Trippeer

Jordan writes about the human capacity for great struggle and even greater triumph. Her work has been lauded for its “fascinating, flawed characters, immersive world building, and mischievous originality.” Bio at jordantrippeer.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.