Poets logo

The Visitor

I enter an abandoned house.

By Isla GriswaldPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Visitor
Photo by Andy Li on Unsplash

I tiptoe across the rotting porch,

carefully feeling each floorboard

with my feet before I tread.

Thick, mahogany curtains

glare at me disapprovingly

from behind windows

like a cross neighbor.

I touch the rotting door

that is missing one of its hinges,

and it creaks open.

A crotchety old wardrobe meets my gaze,

the paint smeared on its doors

warning me to turn back.

I shiver as I breathe air that hasn’t been

breathed in decades, then I venture further,

as welcome as a cockroach

scuttling into a dark corner.

The living room, eerily clean,

beckons me on my left.

A menacing leather armchair

faces the cold fireplace;

its armrests are daggers of destruction.

I sit on the sofa instead, wondering.

Check out my profile to browse my stories in other genres and follow me on Facebook and Instagram to get updates on new stories. Please like and subscribe if you enjoyed. Thanks for reading!

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Isla Griswald

I am, and always have been, obsessed with names, swords, and everything relating to ancient Greece and Rome.

Follow me on Facebook and Instagram for updates on new stories, links to stories I've enjoyed, and sneak peeks into my life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.