Poets logo

the villain’s monologue

i.e. cutting someone with all my edge

By Brittany MacKeownPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
the villain’s monologue
Photo by Darran Shen on Unsplash

We spit

The cherry pit

Upon the sidewalk.

We turn

Away from what we need to learn

Absolutely.

And power,

That thing you want more than a lover,

Corrupts you, darling.

I should know,

I learned to sow

The seeds of strength

In the rain.

Here, pain,

Come find the weak,

The sufferer in the desert.

He’s a pest.

A stain on my hands

Drying underneath my fingernails.

The very bane of my existence,

Of yours,

Of theirs.

We all share a common enemy, don’t we?

So why—why

Would you fight the high

Of destroying what once stood in your way?

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Brittany MacKeown

I also go by my middle name, Renee, but you can call me about anything

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.