Poets logo

The Vampire's Embrace

a #spookyseason poem

By Sara LittlePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

With sultry lilting whisper,

the Countess bowed gracefully,

"Come my dearest darling Mina,

and dance a while with me."

I took her long extended hand

cold pale and resolute;

she spun me close into her chest

and with the music gave pursuit

to the other dancers in the hall

as deathly pale as she.

The waltz, a lively mournful tune

that forced our steps to frenzy,

and as we whirled around the room

I lost all sense of place and time.

The Countess' eyes and sweet perfume

had wrapt me in a dream sublime.

She caught me close in iron embrace

and bent her lips to mine,

then trailed them slowly down my neck,

Predatory and sanguine.

The blood thundered in my fevered veins

my tilted head showing fragile skin.

The Countess' pearly sharpened fangs

glinted in a wolfish grin.

And I, enticed to this danse macabre,

Relinquished all my my mortal soul

and welcomed to my tender flesh

the blood-stained mouth of Countess Dracul.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Sara Little

Writer and high school English teacher seeking to empower and inspire young creatives, especially of the LGBTQIA+ community

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.