Poets logo

Black Cats and Worse Luck

a #spookyseason poem

By Sara LittlePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Black Cats and Worse Luck
Photo by Clément Falize on Unsplash

I swerved to avoid the black clowder of cats

that paraded across 13th street,

And my car plowed right into a mirror factory,

silver shards slicing into my seats

I leaped out of the car and to my surprise

I was met with a great roaring clatter;

I winced as I turned right around to behold

that I'd walked right into a ladder!

Stumbling back from the wreckage

I merely tap-danced over each gaping crack in the sidewalk

And when I sat down at the local malt shop

my elbow upended the salt

This day could not get much worse I supposed

as I nodded my head to the greeter

But when the chap sitting by me asked what play we were watching

I shouted, "MACBETH!" in the theater.

Rain poured down outside in a rushing deluge

as I fought with my stubborn umbrella

The device sprang open right there in the lobby

nearly whacking into the poor fella

I mumbled apologies as I picked up his hat

handing it to him shamefaced

This day had been filled with such terrible luck

I trudged home completely disgraced.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Sara Little

Writer and high school English teacher seeking to empower and inspire young creatives, especially of the LGBTQIA+ community

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.