Poets logo

💰The Value of Life💰

The Ultimate Gamble

By Annie Edwards Published 2 years ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
4
How much is your life worth?

🎲 I used to say I'm wasn't much of a gambler.

Call me cheap, but I acknowledge and appreciate the value of a dollar. I hate to see money go to waste. 💰🚮

Yet, how quickly I am, and without much thought, willing to gamble with my very own life.

Overwhelmed… ⏰ so I let my time waste away.

I am frozen in fear; standing still, all the while knowing that time itself will never stand still. ⏰

Well, it seems that I am currently the classic case of an oxymoron.

I'd like to say I'm better than that. In fact, I know I am.

Yet, how easily your mind can betray you when you give it permission…

🎲 I used to say I wasn’t much of a gambler.

Call me cheap, but I acknowledge and appreciate the value of a dollar. I hate to see money go to waste. 💰🚮

Yet, I refuse to acknowledge and appreciate the value of myself…unintentionally gambling away my own life, unable to comprehend it’s worth.

How disheartening, especially considering, ironically,

🎲 I call the shots. 🎲

🎲 I used to say I wasn’t much of a gambler.

I now refer to myself as a recovering gambler, because I acknowledge and appreciate the value of my life. I refuse to see it go to waste. 🚮🪷

advicedepressionhumanityselfcaresupportinspirationalsad poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetrylove poems
4

About the Creator

Annie Edwards

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.