Poets logo

The Valedictory of a golden beach

Relief at the end

By P.A.Vinura JayasankaPublished 2 months ago ā€¢ 2 min read
Top Story - March 2024
17
The Valedictory of a golden beach
Photo by Cristofer Maximilian on Unsplash

On a warm evening,

a boy about nineteen,

on a broken canoe,

was enjoying the beauty,

of the last dive of the sun..

Then suddenly,

" Hey! Hey! Young man, don't you hear me?"

a gravelly voice came from somewhere.

He wondered for a while,

gazing around the canoe,

seeking for the owner of the voice..

"Hey, my boy! Look at your feet,

most of the time,

your call comes from,

right, where you stand,

not from the horizon,

that you have never even reached.

Look at the ground lad!

I'm the old golden beach!"

The boy jumped startled..

"Young man, I know it's pretty strange,

however I don't have much time,

to hold my breath,

before I fade away,

I need to reveal this stuff,

to someone..

I've been watching billions of moments,

for thousands of years,

but I was hardly cared by people..

my boy, you have a pen?"

The boy sank into the bottom of the canoe and nodded.

"Ah, nice. Also, take a piece of paper. What? It's crumpled?

Lad! That won't affect, what you write on the paper will only affect,

and its appearance won't impact in most cases...

Just write down what I say,

without questioning as time flies..

Throughout the years I lived,

I've seen gigantic ships,

beached on me,

also in misty, dark nights, I've seen,

the way ships were wrecked into pieces,

by the mighty cliffs....

But I don't know whether cliffs are wicked or not,

as I've never talked with them...

I felt really cozy,

when kids played on me,

running all around joyfully,

making sand castles,

even the grown-ups joined them,

I felt that happiness."

The boy came out and sat on the sandy beach,

without fear..

"My boy, you won't believe,

I'm the one who has heard almost,

all the secrets of people and couples.

They thought no one heard them,

but I did.

But you won't find,

any sense out of that old stuff.

Anyway, I'll tell you this.

I've seen the people's faces get blushed,

like the red sun,

with the most adorable words of their partners,

I really enjoyed witnessing those,

lovely moments.

But most shockingly,

I've seen the same person,

returns on another day,

without the partner,

looking desperate and frustrated.

They sit on me,

and release their despair into the air,

with a flood of tears,

they blame themselves,

for trusting fancy promises.

So, my boy, I've seen,

thousands of heavy-built gentlemen,

and most beautiful ladies,

weeping endlessly.

My boy, listen to this sharply!

And write this bold on your paper.

Never be a betrayer or a fake lover,

Never be a trust-killer or a heart-breaker!

Oh! I'm free! I find myself,

immensely relieved now son.

Now look at me,

I'm not as gold as I used to be.

This sea has been attacking me,

bit by bit for ages..

and you see rocks have come up,

over me.

Not only the sea, but also humans,

littered me a lot with,

their dirty minds and hands.

My boy, my time has come,

you won't see me again.

Don't cry little one,

I served my best to the world,

more importantly,

I shared with you, what I always needed,

so my young man,

thank you for your time.

Remember what I asked you,

to write in bold,

and don't forget to spread these words!!!

nature poetrylove poemsinspirationalGratitudeFriendshipFree VerseFamily
17

About the Creator

P.A.Vinura Jayasanka

Hi! I'm an Engineering student who is passionate on poetry and movie critiques with mastering both creative and analytical aspects. You can follow me on facebook:

https://web.facebook.com/people/Vin-J-Writer/61555864435081/?mibextid=ZbWKwL

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mika Oka8 days ago

    Congratulations for the top story

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    congrats on TS! This poem is breathtaking, the photo at the top is perfect. So many wonderful lines: I'm the old golden beach! They sit on me, and release their despair into the air, with a flood of tears, they blame themselves, for trusting fancy promises. Not only the sea, but also humans, littered me a lot with, their dirty minds and hands. I just loved all the advice the beach gave the young man! You used the perfect title also.

  • Staringaleabout a month ago

    Wonderful message. The emphasis on sharing and passing on important words or lessons highlights the importance of connections and the impact we have on others. Definitely appreciate the heartfelt message on this poem. Congrats on Top Story!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!šŸ„³šŸ„³šŸ„³

  • Congratulations on your top story !

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Wise beach.

  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    It gave me loads of advices. Thank you very much Vinura.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.