Poets logo

The uprooted

O Haiti, far from your shores

By Louinel Estimable Published 8 months ago 1 min read
Like
The uprooted
Photo by Tim Wildsmith on Unsplash

The Uprooted

Far from your shores

O Haiti, I find myself

Far from my beloved homeland

Exiled, disorientated, I feel locked up

Under a grey and gloomy sky

A vengeful climate

The one that got the better of General Toussaint Louverture

I am inextricably chained

How much longer can I hold out?

How long will it take to find

My peaceful hamlet of Campêche?

Where my sweet mother rests!

The tumults that beset you, O my unforgettable homeland

Do nothing to take away the sweetness you bring

The opulence granted by other skies

Is but a pittance compared to your blessings

nature poetryslam poetrysad poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Louinel Estimable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.