Poets logo

The Unexpected

A Poem From a Time Ago

By Jennifer HuffmanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Anguish and anxiety over my body. As weak as it already is, I'm surprised I'm still standing. Voices I hear, though distant and far, they penetrate every little scar. This corrupt world knows nothing of my pain. They know nothing of the heartache that makes me feel as though I've gone insane. No one knows of the tears that I've cried, of the lies that I've lied.

Worse than a blade penetrating the skin, someone I love has pierced within. I never thought I would be the one to let heartbreak bring me down. I always keep that hope that it will be better tomorrow. My trust has been gone for so long now. I don't know if I can ever open my soul to anyone again. I never thought he could hurt me this way. It's as if we never had anything between us at all. How can someone be filled with so much hate? I never thought it would be possible for him not to be there for me.

People always say expect the unexpected. I guess I never thought the unexpected could happen to me. The words come so easily to hurt when your in pain. It would be unexpected if I disappeared. No one truly expects what they think would never happen. So maybe people should start expecting...the unexpected.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Jennifer Huffman

I am a happily married mother of 3. I love to write, sing, spend time with my family, craft along with a number of other things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.